Visa exemptions for single entry into Thailand for stays of up to 30 days if arriving by air, or 15 days arriving overland, for tourist purposes only, apply to the following nationalities, listed alphabetically. 

Argentina, Australia, Austria

Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei

Canada, Chile


Finland, France

Germany, Greece

Hong Kong     

Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy


Korea (ROK), Kuwait

Laos, Luxembourg

Macau, Malaysia, Monaco, Mongolia

Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway


Peru, Philippines, Portugal



Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland


United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States


Under the visa exemption rules, all visitors must be in possession of a confirmed airline ticket exiting Thailand within the specified period (30 or 15 days, as appropriate, dependant on method of entry). 

Please note that for travellers entering Thailand overland under the visa exemption scheme, onward overland tickets by bus or rail are not acceptable as proof of intent to leave Thailand within the specified 15 day period. 

All other nationalities, or visitors from the above countries requiring entry for longer periods of up to 60 days, will require visas, obtainable from Thai consulates. 

All visitors must be in possession of a passport with validity in excess of six months from the date of entry, and additionally may be required to produce proof of access to funds in excess of 20,000 baht per person or 40,000 baht per family.